Stockport Walking & Outdoor Group



 Sunday and Thursday Walks (plus the occasional Saturday)

  • Occasionally we stop at a pub for lunch but often not. Therefore it is essential to bring a packed lunch and a drink. 
  • Please wear sensible footwear and carry waterproof clothing. 
  • The leader has the right not to accept walkers considered to be inadequately equipped. 
  • Dogs are accepted at the leader’s discretion and should be kept on leads.
  • Observe the Countryside Code.

We DEPART Sunday 09.30 am;  Thursday 10.00am, from either the Hazel Grove Park and Ride, behind the Rising Sun pub (HG) OR from on-road parking at  Piccadilly, Stockport town centre (P).





Sunday, 6 August

Pendle Hill, Lancs - 10 miles. John Edwards (P). 07470513425


Wednesday, 9 August

High Lane evening walk. Paul Davies


Thursday, 10 August

Timbersbrook & Bosley Cloud - 7 miles. Sue Earp.  (HG)  01663 308902


Sunday, 13 August

Peak Forest and Castleton -10 miles. Nigel Earp. (HG). 01663 308902

Sunday, 20 August

Yorkshire Sculpture Park. Harvey. (P) 07525125534


Sunday, 27 August

Peak District Boundary Walk - Whaley Bridge (HG) 9 miles 

Jack 07726 197320

Sunday, 3 September

Delamere Forest – 10.5 miles (P)

John Edwards 07470513425; 01619483379

Thursday, 7 September

Chadkirk - Alison W (HG), 07563 206436


Sunday, 10 September

The Great Ridge – 14 miles (HG)

Paul and Pam Davies

Sunday, 17 September

Chinley Churn Quarries, Mount Famine and South Head – (HG)

Graham Brookes 01614499445;  0755 457 6036

Sunday, 1 October

Wycoller - 9 miles (P) Jack Martin


Thursday, 5 October

Peover (HG)- Joan H, 01625 250554

Sunday, 8 October

Winter Hill (P) Steve Harrington

Sunday, 15 October

Staffordshire Roaches - 10 miles (HG)

Phil Wharmby

Sunday, 22 October

Chrome Hill - 10m (HG). Cary O'Donnell

Thursday, 2 November 2017

Werneth Low (HG) -

Sue & Geoff T, 07939 072946

Sunday, 5 November 2017

Froggatt – 8 miles (HG)

Nigel Earp 01663308902

Saturday, 11 November 2017

Afternoon walk followed by meal. Buxton

Sue & Pete 07761 783233

Sunday, 12 November 2017

Hadfield to Greenfield. Meet 10am Manchester Piccadilly. Chris Hughes 0161 2229895

Sunday, 19 November 2017

Buxton - 10 miles (HG). Mark Coleman

Sunday, 26 November 2017

Castleton, Lord's Seat and Eldon Hill -10.4 miles - (HG)  - John Edwards 01619483379; 07470513425.

Thursday, 30 November 2017

Rudyard & Rushton Spencer (HG)-

Tracy, 07810 314093

Sunday, 3 December 2017

A Shrigley Wriggle - 8m (HG) Cary O'Donnell

Sunday, 17 December 2017

Holmfirth – 10 Miles (P)

Harvey 0161 431 6528

Tuesday, 26 December 2017

Boxing Day Walk - Paul & Pam Davies 0161 483 5232










Everyone taking part in Group activities does so at their own risk. Please read our safeguarding statement in full in the Membership section

Community Web Kit provided free by BT